< Gloucester Lyceum & Sawyer Free Library



For the first time in decades, the Annual Art auction was held in the fall. The decision was made to change the date of the 2011 auction to the first Wednesday in October in an attempt to capture a newer audience of buyers as well as artists. seARTS colaborated by sending out a news blast seeking new artists.

The Silent Art Auction took place during the month of September in the Adolph Matz Gallery with sixty-nine (69) paintings in the auction, 65 generously contributed by local artists and 3 donated by patrons.  The final Live Auction took place on the Library's Main Floor on the evening of October 5, 2011 with approximately seventy-five in attendance.  During the preview party, musicians Jeannine Lynch and Peter Phillips once again donated time and talent.  For the thirteenth consecutive year Jack Goode volunteered as auctioneer.  While most artists donate their works at 50%, several artists donated 100% of the proceeds to the Library.

The Art Auction continues to raise money for the library’s Art Department for art related items such as DVDs, shelving, books, periodicals, and programs.  Auction proceeds are also used to purchase museum passes to the Museum of Fine Arts and the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum.

2011 Total Auction Revenue
Artist Payout and Expenses
(Advertising, postage, refreshments, supplies)  
Net Income

The Art Advisory Committee evaluates candidates for the Mimi Ferrini Scholarship Award for Cape Ann high school seniors pursuing an education in the arts.  The 2010 Mimi Ferrini Scholarship recipient was Erica Hillier.  The 2011 recipients of the $500 scholarship awards were Jason Burroughs and Tyler Devlin.  As an honorable mention candidate, the committee voted to award Stephen Harmon $300 from the Art Advisory.  

Nicole Dahlmer and Megan Pereen were the spring 2012 recipients of the Mimi Ferrini Scholarship.  The Art Advisory Committee voted to award Christopher Quinlan $500 for his exceptional work.  

Ann Ziergiebel, Jim Watson, and Lea Watson became members of the Art Advisory Committee in the spring of 2012.   We are grateful for their participation this past year.  They join a long list of volunteers who annually continue to make possible the wonderful success of the auction.

Annual volunteers include, but not limited to:

Jeannine Lynch and Peter Phillips, musicians
Jack Goode, auctioneer
Roger Armstrong
George Sibley
MJ Powers
Susan McHenry
Arline Land
Nancy Rossi
Gail Farrell
Deannie and Fred Johnson
Sandy Coder
Carolin Catalano
Greg Bover
Carol Ackerman
Susie Welty
Claire Hurst
Maryanne Amero

And of course to the many wonderful artists in the community who continue to contribute to the support of the library, the committee is deeply grateful.

Respectfully submitted,

Sharon Pablo
Carolyn Lawler
Mary Weissblum
Carol Gray, Director, ex officio


Painting by Teresa Wonson
for Annual Art Auction



Megan Pereen and Nicole Dahlmer
accept their Mimi Ferrini Scholarships from
Library Director Carol Gary