|

City of Gloucester
Weather Forecasts | Weather Maps | Weather Radar
|
New Genealogy Resources at Sawyer Free Library
Ancestry Library Edition
Available free for in-house use only at Sawyer Free Library with your SFL card
|
Ancestry Library Edition makes family research easy for beginners while still providing in-depth tools for even the most advanced genealogists. The collection has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes); Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes); The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630; Social Security Death Index (updated monthly); WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War collection. New information is added constantly.
|
Sawyer Free Library Online Resource Gateway
Need information fast? For general information, you can find full-text magazine articles on most topics.
|
NoveList is a fiction database that provides reviews, Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, Annotated Book Lists and much more for over 135,000 fiction titles |
Power Search all InfoTrac databases and the Gale Virtual Reference Library on the PowerSearch platform.
|
|
|
|
As a Sawyer Free Library card holder, you have access to high-quality local, state, and regionally funded databases of full-text periodicals, health and business resources, biographical and literary databases from home, using your Sawyer Free Library card.
Licensed Online Resources
Available to Sawyer Free Library Patrons

Newx Digital Sanborn Maps of Massachusetts 1867-1970
Sanborn fire insurance maps are one of the most frequently consulted maps. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Seven or eight different editions represent some areas.
NewxxHoover's Company Records
Featuring profiles of more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, Hoover's Company Records provides easy access to the most thorough and up-to-date business information available.
NewxxLiterary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center provides users with information on thousands of authors and their works. The database includes 27,000 plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; 140,500 author biographies; 350 literary journals; 54,000 poems, 14,500 short stories, 84,000 classic texts, 4,000 author interviews and more than 1,000 images of key literary figures. Literary Reference Center has been specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.
NewxxMassachusetts Online Newspaper Databases
The Massachusetts Newstand consists of twelve newspapers, including the Boston Globe, Boston Herald, and the Worcester Telegram.
BigChalk eLibrary
Easy to use! BigChalk eLibrary is a full-text database of consumer-oriented magazines, books, newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, photographs and maps. Key in your request in natural language, and you won't be disappointed.
Grolier Online
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia: 36,000 entries intended for students in middle school and up and as a quick reference look-up tool for public library patrons of all ages. New Book of Knowledge: 9,000 articles suitable for grade 3 and up as well as ESL. Provides description of complex subjects in an easy-to-understand manner.
OCLC WorldCat
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. Search many libraries at once for an item and then locate it in a library nearby.
EBSCO Databases
MasterFILE Premier
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,730 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an image collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags.
Academic Search Elite
This resource offers full text for more than 2,000 journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. A multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Elite covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985. The database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
EBSCO Animals
Provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.
ERIC
The Educational Resource Information Center contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Health Source - Consumer Edition
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features more than 130 full text, consumer health magazines
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.
Kids Search
Kids Search is a colorful interface that's designed for students through the eighth grade, and for teachers. It searches the Primary Search database, a children's dictionary and encyclopedia, and a collection of images. The Teacher Resources include Academic Search Elite, the Professional Development Collection and ERIC.
Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,(LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
MEDLINE
Medline provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Middle Search Plus
Middle Search Plus provides full text for 140 popular magazines for middle and jr. high school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags.
Newspaper Source
Cover-to-cover full text articles for 28 national (U.S.) & international newspapers; selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers; and 20,000+ full text television and radio news transcripts.
Primary Search
Primary Search provides full text for nearly 70 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
Regional Business News
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Thomson Gale Databases
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Biography Resource Center + Marquis Who's Who®
The Biography Resource Center is a comprehensive database of biographical information on over 340,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. The Marquis Who's Who® module provides quick reference information on over 1 million additional people whose entries have appeared in more than 20 Marquis sources published from 1985 to the present.
Business Index ASAP
Perform in-depth research on management issues, economic indicators and business practices, as well as on the activities of companies and industries worldwide. Instant access to academic and business journals with full text and iamges.
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
An extensive collection of more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Each entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, a list of principal works, critical essays, and sources for further study. Updated monthly, Contemporary Literary Criticism--Select allows users to search by author name, title of work, nationality, subject/genre, ethnicity, critic name, and more.
Educator's Reference Complete
Educator's Reference Complete is a selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. Updated daily, the database provides 24-hour access from school or home.
Expanded Academic ASAP
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research available online at the library or remotely 24/7.
General Business File ASAP
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.
General Reference Center Gold
Use this general interest database to search full-text magazines, reference books, trade publications and newspapers for information on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, etc. Resource coverage since 1980.
Health Reference Center Academic
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center; all in a single, easy-to-use database. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
InfoTrac OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles. Updated daily.
InfoTrac Junior Edition
This periodical database is designed for junior high and middle school students. It provides access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
InfoTrac Student Edition
This periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Kids InfoBits
Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Massachusetts History Online
Contains full-text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to MA history.
The New York Times
Search the full text of The New York Times (starting in 1995).
|