Research Resources

The following list of databases is a good place to get started with your research. Many of these are subscription resources paid for by the Sawyer Free Library, NOBLE, and the state of Massachusetts, and they offer more information than a Google search. If you don’t know where to start, ask one of our Information Service Librarians for assistance.


A | B | C-DE | FG | H | I-L | M | N | O-Q | R-T | U-Z

A

Academic Search Elite
This resource offers full text for more than 2,000 journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. A multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Elite covers virtually every area of academic study. (NOBLE cards only)

Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

Agriculture Collection
Nearly 200 titles provide broad coverage of agriculture and related fields.

Ancestry Library Edition
Ancestry Library Edition makes family research easy for beginners while still providing in-depth tools for even the most advanced genealogists.(No Remote Access)

top

B

Biography in Context
Nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. Search by name, occupation, Nationality, birth place, or death place.

Boston Globe
Full text from 1980-current. Includes published obituaries.

Britannica Online
Offers reference materials for adults, as well as children. Included are a dictionary, thesaurus, videos, images, primary sources, and e-books.

Business Collection
Coverage includes accounting, marketing and management, plus business theory and practice.

Business Economics and Theory Collection
Provides access to academic journals and magazines on topics in economics and related fields.

Business Source Premier
The industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. (NOBLE cards only)

top

C-D

Communication and Mass Media Collection
Current, accurate information covers advertising, literature, linguistics and more.

Criminal Justice Collection
Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection provides users with access to a variety of materials, including more than 700 journals.

Culinary Arts Collection
Includes major cooking and nutrition magazines, and culinary journals. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Diversity Studies Collection
Find engaging explorations of cultural differences, contributions and influences.

top

E

EBSCO eBooks
EBSCO offers electronic books from some of the world’s most renowned publishing houses, including Springer, Taylor & Francis and Wiley InterScience®. (NOBLE cards only)
Educator’s Reference Complete
More than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.

Encyclopedias (English and Spanish)
Brittanica comprehensive encyclopedias with dictionary, thesaurus, atlas, and more

Environmental Studies & Policy Collection
Includes magazines and academic journals, and provides instant access to multiple viewpoints, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, and corporate interests.

ERIC
The Educational Resource Information Center contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. (NOBLE cards only)

top

F

Fine Arts and Music Collection
Wilson Art Index and RILM are among the resources in this collection.

FirstSearch
The world’s largest network of library content and services. Search many libraries at once for an item and then locate it in a library nearby. (No remote access) To access the public side of Firstsearch, visit WorldCat.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.(NOBLE cards only)

top

G

Gardening, Landscape & Horticulture Collection
Ideal for gardeners, landscape architects, farmers and biotechnologists, this collection of journals includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.

General OneFile
Use this comprehensive periodical resource for any subject. Coverage goes back to 1980 with over 12,000 titles (7,800 full-text including The New York Times back to 1985).

Gender Studies Collection
Balanced coverage of gender studies, family/marital issues, health and more.

Global Issues in Context
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics and current events.

GreenFILE
Well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.(NOBLE cards only)

top

H

Health Reference Center Academic
Full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.

HealthSource
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. (NOBLE cards only)

HealthSource: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. (NOBLE cards only)

HeritageQuest
Includes the complete U.S. Federal Census from 1790-1940. More than 20,000 book titles, including nearly 8,000 family histories and over 12,000 local histories. Includes more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records, and more.(Gloucester cards only)

Home Improvement Collection
Nearly 100 titles suit hobbyists and professional carpenters alike.

Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection
Find information on the history of the hospitality and tourism field, also. Study specialized aspects of the industry including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.

top

I-L

InfoTrac Newsstand
Search full-text articles by headline, date, newspaper section and more.

InfoTrac Student Edition
A periodical database designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.

Insurance and Liability Collection
Reliable information on labor relations, mortgages, legal issues and more.

Kids InfoBits
For beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
LISTA indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.  (NOBLE cards only)

Literature in Context
Biography, criticism and overviews on 130,000 writers in all disciplines.

 

top

M

MasterFILE Premier
More than 1,730 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. (NOBLE cards only)

Medline
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. (NOBLE cards only)

Middle Search Plus & Primary Search
Popular magazines for middle and jr. high school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Includes biographies, primary source documents, photos, maps and flags. (NOBLE cards only)

Military and Inteliigence Database Collection 
Journal content covers the past and current state of military affairs.

top

N

New York Times
Full-text of The New York Times, including the NYT Book Review and NYT magazine from 1985-current.

Newspaper Source
Cover-to-cover full text articles for 28 national (U.S.) & international newspapers; selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers; and 20,000+ full text television and radio news transcripts. (NOBLE cards only)
NoveList Plus
A readers’ advisory database, Novelist Plus provides reviews, Author Read-alikes, What We’re Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, Annotated Book Lists and much more for over 135,000 fiction and non-fiction titles. (NOBLE cards only)
NoveList K-8 Plus
NoveList K-8 Plus is a comprehensive reading resource for fiction and nonfiction. With its fun and intuitive interface, NoveList K-8 Plus will help you integrate reading across the curriculum and support your young readers. (NOBLE cards only)
Nursing and Allied Health
All aspects of the Nursing profession–from direct patient care to health care administration–are covered in this collection.

 

top

O-Q

Overdrive
Adult, teen, and children’s eBooks and eAudiobooks available for check-out with your library card. Download to your smartphone, iPad, PC, Kindle, Nook, and more! (NOBLE cards only)

Pop Culture Collection
Full-text periodicals support coursework and general interests alike.

Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. (NOBLE cards only)

Psychology Collection
Find 24/7 access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

top

R-T

Regional Business News
Comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. (NOBLE cards only)

Religion and Philosophy Collection
Insightful content covers every category of religion and philosophy.

Research in Context
An engaging cross-curricular, K-12 resource created for middle school assignment needs

Science in Context
Information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics.

Small Business Collection
Full-text insights, tips and strategies for students and entrepreneurs.

Small Business Resource Center
Startups and established businesses alike can access How To’s covering vital questions.

top

U-Z

U.S. History Collection
Robust coverage for both novice historians and advanced researchers.

U.S. History in Context
Comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from an extensive collection of historical information, including Primary Source Microfilm’s digital archives, Macmillan Reference USA, Charles Scribner’s Sons, and full-text periodicals and academic journals.

Vocations & Careers Collection
Covers the college and job search and provides current and applicable content for all vocational milestones from nearly 400 journals. General career guides as well as highly specialized industry journals.

War and Terrorism Collection
Periodicals for analysts, risk management professionals and students.

World History Collection
Well-rounded coverage of current thinking and scholarly work.

World History in Context
Offers students and researchers access to periodicals, reference works, and primary documents. Includes historical maps, atlases, and audio and video selections from NPR, archival newsreels, and more.

top